An invoice can be deleted by users with Delete permissions.
An invoice can only be deleted after all payments and sales items have been deleted. A notice will display if there payments or sales items are associated with the invoice.
You must first delete the associated payment, then you will be able to delete the associated sales items. Once any payments and/or sales items have been deleted, you will be able to delete the invoice.